Friday, September 5, 2008

9 5 2008 San Jose Masters Nationals report

Eleven masters earn points race, sprint titles at track nationals

San Jose, Calif. (September 5, 2008)--Another 11 national titles were decided on Thursday at the 2008 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships in San Jose, Calif. as competitors competed in head-to-head sprints and mass-start points races.

Overall, six sprint titles were determined beginning with the women’s 30-34 category which was won by Jen Featheringill (Portland, Ore./Bike Central) who took two straight rides from silver medalist Jennifer Triplett (Seattle, Wash./Broadmark) to win the national title.

In the women’s 35-39 sprint, Julie Bautista (San Diego, Calif./Adams Ave.) added another title to the 500-meter time trial championship she won earlier in the week. Bautista beat Deborah Kidd (Santa Fe, N.M./Hammer Racing) in two straight rides to claim the title.

In the men’s 30-34 sprint, Peter Billington (San Rafael, Calif./Whole Athlete) outsprinted Nicholas Harter (Corte Madera, Calif./Kondra Systems) to earn the national championship, also in two consecutive rides in the best-of-three format.

Andrew LaCorte (Plainview, N.Y./Sommerville Sports) took home the national title in the men’s 35-39 sprint in two straight rides against Allen Vugrincic (Palo Alto, Calif./Adobe Schwalbe).

Earl Henry (Pinellas Park, Fla./BBC) beat Jim Kloss (Huntington Beach, Calif./Velo Avanti) in the men’s 65-69 category to earn his first Stars-and-Stripes jersey of the week.

And in the final sprint competition decided on Thursday, Paul Yazolino (Alameda, Calif./Alto Velo) beat Richard Keller (Oconomowoc, Wis./Midwest Masters) in the 70+ age category.

Five points race jerseys were also awarded on Thursday. Patty Powers (Kintnersville, Pa./Lymphedivas) won the women’s 45-49 contest with 18 points, Linda Elgart (Sacramento, Calif./Webcor Alto Velo) won the 50+ race with 25 points and Julie Nevitt (Saratoga, Calif./SJBC-SugarCRM) scored 18 points to win the 40-44 race. Jerseys were also awarded to Donna Woods (Carmel, Calif./Team Walthour) and Marsha Marco (Littleton, Colo./Hammer Racing) in the 55-59 and 60+ categories respectively.

Link to story

No comments: