Monday, February 16, 2009

Types of track events

Points Race (sprint / endurance event)
A Points Race is a rolling start race in which riders sprint for points. Certain laps are designated by the organizer as "Points Laps"; usually every five laps. In each sprint, the first four riders are awarded points as follows: 5 points, 3 points, 2 points, 1 point.

Scratch Race/ Final (sprint / endurance event)
A Scratch Race is one in which all riders start from the same place at the same time. The race is run over a specified number of laps and the riders be classified according to the order in which they cross the line on the final lap.

Miss-and-Out / Devil Take the Hindmost (endurance event)
A Miss-and-Out (also called "devil taWke the hindmost") is a mass start event in which the last rider over the line on each lap is eliminated form the race. The race goes until there are three riders left in which they will take a neutral lap and then race to the line for the win.

Individual Pursuit (endurance event)
An Individual Pursuit is a race between two competitors who start at equal intervals around the track, and is run until one competitor catches the other or until a certain distance is covered. Men's pursuit: 4000 meters, Masters 3000m, Women's 3000m and Junior's 2000m.

Team Pursuit (endurance event)
Same as the Individual Pursuit but with four competitors per team.

Olympic Sprint (sprint / endurance event)
Olympic Sprint is a race run over three laps by two teams of three riders. Each rider leads for one lap and then pulls off. Best time wins.

Madison (endurance event)
A Madison is a Points Race between teams of two riders who relay each other for a specified distance.

Kilo (sprint / endurance event)
The Kilo is an individual time trial that is contested over one Kilometer. Best time wins.

Unknown Distance (endurance event)
The Unknown Distance Race is a mass start race in which the racers do not know how many laps the race will be. The official will ring the bell signaling the last lap and the first rider across the line on the next lap is the winner.

Tempo Race (endurance event)
A Tempo Race rewards points to the top two riders of each lap. The first rider gets two points and the second gets one point. This race is usually around ten laps. The rider with the most points at the end of the race wins

Chariot Race (sprint event)
The Chariot Race starts with about six racers being held by a holder on the start line. When the official fires the start gun, the riders sprint for just one lap and place according to their finishing position. There are usually a few heats for this event, with the top 1 or 2 finishers going to a final round.

Danish / Win-and-Out / Reverse Devil (sprint / endurance event)
The Danish, also known as a "Win-and-Out," is a rolling mass start race in which the leader after the first lap places first, the leader after the second lap gets second, and so on up to six places.

Point-a-lap (sprint / endurance event)
The first rider across the line on every lap gets a point. The rider with the most points at the end of the race wins.

Snowball (sprint / endurance event)
A little like a point-a-lap, the first rider across the line on every lap gets one point for each lap completed. So, on the first lap, one point is awarded, on the second, two, and so forth.

Match Sprint (sprint event)
The sprint is a track cycling event involving a one-on-one match race between opponents who, unlike in the individual pursuit, start next to each other.


No comments: